MCPB Item No. Date: 3/1/18

Reappoint the White Flint Sector Plan and Shady Grove Sector Plan Implementation Advisory Committees



N'kosi Yearwood, Senior Planner, Area 2 Division, Nkosi.Yearwood@montgomeryplanning.org, 301-495-1332



Nancy Sturgeon, Supervisor, Master Plan Team, Area 2 Division, Nancy.Sturgeon@montgomeryplanning.org, 301-495-1308



Carrie Sanders, Chief, Area 2 Division, Carrie.Sanders@montgomeryplanning.org, 301-495-4653

Completed: 2/21/18

Description

• Reappointment of the Implementation Advisory Committees for the 2010 White Flint Sector Plan and the 2006 Shady Grove Sector Plan.

Summary

Staff recommends that the Planning Board reappoint the Implementation Advisory Committees for the 2010 White Flint Sector Plan and the 2006 Shady Grove Sector Plan, with the addition of new members for each committee.

A. WHITE FLINT SECTOR PLAN IMPLEMENTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Background

The White Flint Sector Plan was approved and adopted in April 2010. The Sector Plan requires that the Planning Board establish an advisory committee of stakeholders who are involved with implementation of the Plan's recommendations, including property owners, residents, Executive Branch representatives, and interest groups. In September 2010, the Planning Board appointed 24 individuals to the White Flint Sector Plan Implementation Advisory Committee, including property owners, civic association representatives, and Executive Branch representatives. Since its creation, the Implementation Advisory Committee (IAC) has reviewed all submitted sketch plans, site plans, and preliminary plans and has received updates on new public infrastructure, including the Western Workaround and new bikeways. Mr. David D. Freishtat and Mr. Chad Salganik are co-chairs of the Committee.

The current Committee members include the following:

NAME	AFFILIATION
Michael Springer	U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Bill Hard	North Bethesda Center (LCOR)
David D. Freishtat	Bethesda-Chevy Chase Chamber of Commerce
Todd Lewers	Forum Condominium
John King	White Flint Community Coalition
Chad Salganik	Franklin Park Homeowners Association
Ruwan Salgado	Gables on Tuckerman Condominium Association
Mary Ward	Resident of Crest of Wickford
Edward Rich	Resident of Old Farm
Peggy Schwartz	North Bethesda Transportation Management District
Francine Waters	Lerner Enterprises
Jeff Derogatis	Resident of White Flint Park-Garrett Park Estates
Paul Meyer	Resident of the Wisconsin Condominium
Brian Downie	Saul Centers
Andrew Bossi	Montgomery County Department of Transportation
Dennis Hetman	Montgomery County Department of Finance
Dee Metz	Office of the County Executive (White Flint Coordinator)
Kristi Smith	JBG Smith
Jay Corbalis	Federal Realty Investment Trust
Abbe Milstein	Luxmanor Citizens Association
Michael Krauthamer	Resident of the Wisconsin

Outreach

In October 2017, Planning Department staff solicited nominations for the IAC from a variety of property owners, existing Committee members, and civic and home owners' associations surrounding the Sector Plan area. All nominees were required to submit a letter of interest highlighting their background, expertise, and any other qualifications related to implementation of the 2010 *White Flint Sector Plan*.

Proposed Member

Ms. Susan Hudson has resided in the Garrett Park Estates-White Flint Park neighborhood for many years. She was a member of the original 2016 White Flint Implementation Advisory Committee and was later appointed to the Planning Board's White Flint Steering Committee. Ms. Hudson is a past president of the Garrett Park Estates-White Flint Park Citizens Association and continues to serve on the Association's Board. Ms. Hudson is interested in walkability, public services and development as it relates to people who will be living, working and visiting the White Flint area.

Recommendation

Staff recommends that the Planning Board reappoint the existing White Flint Sector Plan IAC members and add a new member, Ms. Susan Hudson.

B. SHADY GROVE SECTOR PLAN IMPLEMENTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Background

The Shady Grove Sector Plan was approved and adopted in March 2006. The Sector Plan recommended an Implementation Plan, including a "citizens participation strategy to assure community involvement in Plan implementation." In 2006, the Planning Board established the Shady Grove Sector Plan Implementation Advisory Committee (IAC), including property owners, community members, and municipal representatives. Since its creation, the Committee has reviewed all proposed development in the Plan area, including the redevelopment of the County Service Park (Shady Grove Station) and municipal annexations. Ms. Pamela Lindstrom is the chair of the Committee and Ms. Catherine Matthews, Director of the Upcounty Regional Services Center, provides additional support to the Committee.

The current Committee members include the following:

NAME	AFFILIATION
John Compton	Town of Washington Grove
Pat Labuda	Shady Grove Civic Alliance
Connie McKenna ¹	Redland Station
Michael McInerney	Sommerville Properties
Joe Parello	Old Derwood
Pamela Lindstrom	Old Towne Gaithersburg
Brian Pierce	King Farm
Jeffery Reznick	Park Overlook

¹ In January 2018, Ms. McKenna informed staff that she has moved to Silver Spring and will not participate with the Committee activities.

Outreach

In October 2017, Planning Department staff solicited nominations for the IAC from a variety of property owners and civic and home owners' associations surrounding the Sector Plan area. All nominees were required to submit a letter of interest highlighting their background, expertise, and any other qualifications related to the implementation of the 2006 *Shady Grove Sector Plan*.

Proposed Members

Ms. Matthews, Director of the UpCounty Regional Services Center, nominated Mr. Cheng Tu. Mr. Tu is a current member of the UpCounty Citizens Advisory Board. He is the founder of the Enfocus Consulting Group, a management consultancy, and he has more than 16 years of experience in the financial services industry, including fixed income financial services.

Ms. McKenna has nominated Dr. Hyunmi Kim Halas to replace her. Dr. Halas resides in the Park Overlook neighborhood, has two children at Candlewood Elementary School, and is a scientist at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda.

Recommendation

Staff recommends that the Planning Board reappoint the existing Shady Grove Sector Plan IAC members and add Mr. Cheng Tu and Dr. Hyunmi Kim Halas as new members.