Attachment 3



## OFFICE OF THE CHAIRMAN

November 6, 2009

The Honorable Isiah Leggett County Executive Montgomery County Government 101 Monroe Street Rockville, Maryland 20850

The Honorable Phil Andrews President Montgomery County Council 100 Maryland Avenue Rockville, Maryland 20850

## RE: July 2009 County Council Amendment to the Comprehensive Water Supply and Sewerage Systems Plan WSCCR 09A-PAX-01: Eglise De Dieu Silver Spring

Dear Mr. Leggett and Mr. Andrews:

On Thursday, November 5, 2009, the Montgomery County Planning Board considered the water and sewer service area category change application cited above.

The proposed site is located within the 1997 Fairland Master Plan and is zoned RC north of MD 198. The Fairland Master Plan recommends "community water service only for areas north of MD 198 zoned Rural Cluster (RC) consistent with the Water and Sewer Plan policies regarding water service without sewer. No planned sewer service for areas zoned RC north of MD 198, except to support special exception uses recommended in this Plan."

The Plan further recommends within the Patuxent River watershed: "Do not allow uses that result in more than ten percent imperviousness...Do not extend sewer service to RC zoned properties; water service to RC zone considered on a case by case basis."

The Planning Board recommends denial of sewer service to this property based on inconsistency with the Fairland Master Plan. It should retain the S-6 category.

Honorable Isiah Leggett Honorable Phil Andrews November 6, 2009 Page | 2

However, if the County Council decides to grant the S-3 category to this property under the Private Institutional Facility policy, any development should adhere as closely as possible to the 10% impervious level that the Council approved in the Fairland Master Plan. Further, the connection to existing sewer infrastructure should be the least disruptive over the shortest distance possible.

We thank you for the opportunity to provide recommendations on this case.

Sincerely, Rovce Chairman

RH:KN:ss

cc Keith Levchenko, Montgomery County Council David Lake, MCDEP Alan Soukup, MCDEP Katherine Nelson, M-NCPPC Environmental Planning Clara Moise, M-NCPPC Chairman's Office