

OFFICE OF THE CHAIR

December 7, 2020

The Honorable Tom Hucker, President Montgomery County Council Stella B. Werner Council Office Building 100 Maryland Avenue Rockville, Maryland 20850

Re: Amherst Avenue Separated Bike Lane Alternatives

Dear Council President Hucker:

At its regularly scheduled meeting on December 3, 2020, the Montgomery County Planning Board reviewed the Amherst Avenue Separated Bike Lanes project and voted 4-0 to forward the following comments (I was temporarily absent for the vote, but I am in full support of the comments):

- 1) Advance Alternative 3B Modified as the preferred alternative if the Maryland State Highway Administration (SHA) approves a protected intersection at the intersection of University Boulevard and Amherst Avenue, to ensure a safe crossing for bicyclists using the two-way separated bike lanes. Additionally, between Pritchard Road and Reedie Drive, rather than widening the road, travel lanes should be narrowed to 10.5 feet and the parking lane should be moved to the west side of the street to provide a three-foot bikeway buffer with parking protection.
- 2) If this protected intersection is not approved by SHA, advance Alternative 2 as the preferred alternative and consider design changes to improve bicyclist comfort between Pritchard Road and Reedie Drive, potentially including roadway widening, removal of both lanes of parking, or removal of one travel lane. After additional public engagement on these issues, MCDOT should consider resubmitting this project to the T&E Committee and the Planning Board for deliberations on the appropriate bikeway treatment between Pritchard Road and Reedie Drive in advance of mandatory referral.

Attachment A: Alternatives Analysis Transmittal Letter Amherst Avenue Bikeway Project Mandatory Referral

The Honorable Tom Hucker December 7, 2020 Page Two

Thank you for your attention to this matter. If you have any questions or comments concerning our review, please contact Eli Glazier at 301-495-4548 or Eli.Glazier@montgomeryplanning.org.

Sincerely,

Casey Anderson

Chair

CA:EG:aj

cc: Angel Cheng, MCDOT

Corey Pitts, MCDOT

Daniel Sheridan, MCDOT

Christopher Conklin, MCDOT

Gwen Wright

Jason Sartori

Stephen Aldrich

David Anspacher

Eli Glazier

Dr. Glenn Orlin