™ Montgomery Planning

BETHESDA DOWNTOWN SECTOR PLAN, IMPLEMENTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE REAPPOINTMENTS

Description

The Bethesda Downtown Plan Implementation Advisory Committee (IAC) advises Staff on the progress of implementation of the recommendations in the Approved and Adopted *Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan*. The IAC is made up of up to seven representatives each from the business community and residents of downtown Bethesda. Staff recommends the Planning Board reappoint five members of the IAC to another three-year term.

COMPLETED: 1.5.2024

MCPB Item No. Preliminary Matters January 11, 2024 2425 Reedie Drive Floor 14 Wheaton, MD 20902

Montgomeryplanning.org



Stephanie Dickel, Supervisor, Downcounty, stephanie.dickel@montgomeryplanning.org, 301-495-4527



Elza Hisel-McCoy, Chief, Downcounty <u>Elza.Hisel-McCoy@montgomeryplanning.org</u>, 301-495-2115

MASTER PLAN ZONE

2017 Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan



 Reappoint five members of the Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan Implementation Advisory Committee (IAC) to three-year terms.

SECTION 1: BACKGROUND

As outlined in the *Approved and Adopted Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan*, in 2017 the Planning Department created a representative and balanced Implementation Advisory Committee (IAC) to coordinate and monitor the progress of development and address implementation of the recommendations in the Approved and Adopted *Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan*.

The IAC is made up of up to seven representatives each from the business community and residents of downtown Bethesda. The Planning Board appoints members to serve three-year terms. Members are eligible for reappointment upon completion of their terms and may self-nominate. Members may serve two full consecutive terms.

The Planning Board appointed the initial 14-member IAC in December 2017.

SECTION 2: CANDIDATES

Five current IAC members, whose terms have expired, have indicated their interest in reappointment (attached). Staff nominates for second and final three-year terms Naomi Spinrad, Chevy Chase West resident, and Michael Fetchko, Whitehall Condominium Association resident, to resident seats. Staff nominates for his first three-year full term, Andy O'Hare, representing East Bethesda Citizens Association, to a resident seat. Staff also nominates for second and final three-year terms Jad Donohoe, Senior Vice President at The Donohoe Companies and Patrick O'Neil, land use and zoning attorney with Lerch, Early & Brewer, to business seats. Letters of Interest are attached.

SECTION 3: LIST OF RECOMMENDED COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Civic Associations/Homeowners/Condo Associations

- Naomi Spinrad, resident of Chevy Chase West (CCW) Neighborhood Association (second 3-year term)
- Michael Fetchko, representing residents of Battery Lane District and Whitehall Condominium (second 3-year term)
- 3. Andrew T. O'Hare, representing East Bethesda Citizens Association (first 3-year term)

Property Owner /Business Owner Representatives

- 4. Jad Donohoe, Senior Vice President, The Donohoe Companies (second 3-year term)
- 5. Patrick O'Neil, Land Use Attorney, Lerch Early and Brewer (second 3-year term)

ATTACHMENTS

A. IAC Letters of Interest