Skip navigation

County Council appoints Carol Rubin as newest Planning Board member

October 26, 2021

Carol Rubin
Rubin’s land use experience and ability to navigate complicated negotiations recognized by the Council  

WHEATON, MD – On Tuesday, October 26, 2021, the Montgomery County Council voted unanimously to appoint Carol Rubin, a registered Democrat, as the newest member of the Montgomery County Planning Board, part of The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC).

Rubin, a former M-NCPPC attorney and most recently the Montgomery County Planning Department’s Special Projects manager on the I-495 and I-270 Managed Lanes Study, retired after 16 years with the Commission in September 2021 to seek appointment to the Planning Board. In a press release, the County Council recognized Rubin for her expertise in land use matters and her ability to navigate complicated negotiations as well as her analytical and legal skills.

During the County Council virtual meeting, Rubin expressed her appreciation for the appointment. “Thank you for the faith you have in me to carry forward in this important role, I’m ready to get to work.”

Five residents applied for the open Planning Board position and two candidates were selected for interviews by the County Council. Rubin replaces former Planning Board Vice Chair Natali Fani-González who stepped down in August 2021 before completing her second term. This term is set to expire June 2022.

“Carol’s deep knowledge of the legal and policy issues in land use, transportation, and parks will make her a fantastic addition to the Planning Board,” said Planning Board Chair Casey Anderson. “We welcome Carol to the Board and look forward to her sharing her expertise.”

The five-member Montgomery County Planning Board oversees the Montgomery County Planning Department and the Montgomery County Department of Parks. The Planning Board advises the County Council on land use planning and community planning in Montgomery County.

Members serve four-year terms and are limited to two full terms. No more than three members of the Planning Board may be from the same political party, and each member must be a resident and registered voter of Montgomery County when appointed. The Chair is a full-time position and served by Casey Anderson (Dem). The current Planning Board members include Tina Patterson (Unaffiliated), Gerald Cichy (Rep), and Partap Verma (Dem). Annual compensation for Board members is $30,000, and the chair earns $215,727.

About Carol Rubin
Rubin has a long history of serving Montgomery County. She worked as principal counsel in the Office of the General Counsel at M-NCPPC for 13 years providing legal support to the Montgomery County Planning Department, the Montgomery County Department of Parks, and the Planning Board, advising on development applications and master plans, and issues related to land use and real estate transactions and development. In the 1990s, Rubin served as the primary business liaison and County Executive designee on property acquisition for the Silver Spring Redevelopment project. Since 2018, Rubin served as the special projects manager coordinating the Commission’s response to the Maryland Department of Transportation, State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) I-495 & I-270 Managed Lanes Study. Rubin lives in Kensington with her family and holds a law degree and B.A. from the University of Maryland.

About The Montgomery County Planning Board
The Montgomery County Planning Board plans for livable communities by developing large- and small-scale plans, providing guidelines for the pattern and pace of future development, and preserving historic resources throughout the 323,000-acre county. The Planning Board implements plans through its review of development applications and its subdivision decisions. The Board is also responsible for the development and management of Montgomery County’s nationally recognized 36,512-acre park system. No more than three Planning Board members may be from the same political party and all members must be residents and registered voters in Montgomery County when appointed. Current Board members are Chair Casey Anderson, Gerald Cichy, Tina Patterson, Partap Verma and newly appointed member, Carol Rubin.

About The Montgomery County Department of Parks
Montgomery Parks manages more than 37,000 acres of parkland, consisting of 421 parks. Montgomery Parks is a department of The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC), a bi-county agency established in 1927 to steward public land. The M-NCPPC has been nationally recognized for its high-quality parks and recreation services and is regarded as a national model by other parks systems.